Police Department

The Saranac Lake Police Department is committed to providing residents and visitors alike the safety and security necessary to enjoy living and recreating in the Village.

Darin Perrotte

Chief of Police

Phone: 518.891.4428

Have a question for Darin? Reach out

Darin Perrotte

Chief of Police

Phone: 518.891.4428

Have a question for Darin? Reach out

About

 

The Saranac Lake Police Department is a team of highly skilled men and women who serve the Village of Saranac Lake in the Heart of the Adirondacks in northern New York. The Village jurisdiction is unique as it serves 2 Counties, Franklin & Essex, and 3 Towns, Harrietstown, North Elba, and St. Armand. The Department is currently comprised of 5 Patrol Officers, 3 Sgts, and the Chief of Police. The Saranac Lake Police Department serves the village 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. 

 

Programs

 

The Police Department's mission of service is enhanced by several ongoing programs designed to deter and prevent crime while educating the community on matters of public safety and concern.

 

The Department maintains a close relationship with the schools and has reinstated the DARE program which is taught by the department's juvenile/community affairs officer. We also assist North Country Community College with educational demonstrations. We are an active partner and participant in multijurisdictional investigations with our local, county, state and federal police agencies. The department takes a proactive approach to the needs expressed to us by the community and is always willing to work for the betterment of Village residents and visitors.

 

Staff Members

 

Sgt. Jason Swain Serving Since 2006 jswain@saranaclakeny.gov
Sgt. Travis Labar Serving Since 2016 tlabar@saranaclakeny.gov
Sgt. Reyanin Brown Serving Since 2011 rbrown@saranaclakeny.gov
Officer Luke Cromp Serving Since 2015 lcromp@saranaclakeny.gov
Officer Evan Conners Serving Since 2015 econners@saranaclakeny.gov
Officer Aaron Sharlow Serving Since 2019 asharlow@saranaclakeny.gov
Officer Gabrielle Beebe Serving Since 2020 gbeebe@saranaclakeny.gov
Officer Thomas Lauzon Serving Since 2020 tlauzon@saranaclakeny.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Policies and Procedures (Part 1)

 

Policies and Procedures (Part 2)

 

 

Employment

 

The Saranac Lake Police Department is always looking for goal oriented professionals who are looking to serve their Community as a Law Enforcement Officer. There are two ways to become a Saranac Lake Police Officer:

 

Lateral Transfer- Saranac Lake Police Department is accepting applications from NYS Basic Municipal Police Training Council certified members or equivalent through NYS DCJS. Individuals must have been originally hired from an active NYS Certified Eligible list through Civil Service.

 

New Recruits- Individuals must begin their journey to becoming a Law Enforcement Officer in Saranac Lake by taking the NYS Police Officer Civil Service Exam through Franklin County Dept. of Personnel. Please check with Personnel for examination dates which are generally offered every 2-3 years. After passing the written exam members will be administered a physical fitness exam which is based on the Cooper Physical Fitness Standards.

Other important references: 

 

Location:

1 Main Street

Saranac Lake, NY 12983

Emergency/Dispatch Phone: 911 (24/7 response)

Non-Emergency Phone: 518-891-4428 (not answered 24/7)

Hours of Operation: 24 hours, 7 days a week

Police Department General Orders

Village of Saranac Lake Police Department General Orders. Current as of November 4, 2021. This document will be updated periodically. 

Section 1: CLICK HERE

Section 2: CLICK HERE

Parking Map