Saranac Lake Board of Trustees

The Village Board is elected by village residents. Each member serves a four-year term. The Board makes up the legislative and governing body of the Village of Saranac Lake.


The Village of Saranac Lake is governed by a Mayor, elected at-large, and four Trustees. In 1929, the Governing Body passed a charter ordinance moving day-to-day operation of the Village's functions to a professional Village Manager while still allowing the community to continue electing the Mayor and four Trustees to pass legislation.



Meeting Information

Village Board Meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month starting at 5:30pm in the Harrietstown Town Hall Auditorium. Additional meetings may be held as needed.


To view the agenda for an upcoming meeting, and previous meeting minutes, visit our 'Documents and Forms' page. Included in the agenda is a link and password to view the Board meeting online on Webex. Please note, the online option is for viewing only, not for participating in any portion of the meeting. Public comment may be submitted to the Village clerk prior to the day of the scheduled Board meeting. Contact the clerk at or (518)891-4150 ext. 202 with any questions. 


The meetings are run with public comment periods, which gives anyone the opportunity to address the board. Individual public comment is limited to 5 minutes and may be shortened by the meeting chairperson if not respectful and productive in manner. The Village Board meetings work to address routine business, and special board action items. A public comment is meant to encourage resident comment and the expression of opinion, not a direct debate, nor should a commentator be intimidated by a village board rebuttal. Interested parties or their representatives may address the Board at any time by written or electronic communications. 



Election Information

The Village Board is an elected governing body. The Village Board seats are paired and staggered so that there is an election every two years. The Mayor and Trustees each serve a term of four years with no term limits. 


Contact or (518)891-4150 ext. 202 with any questions.





Village Board/Staff Directory

Public Hearings